You are here:  Home » Archive by category "Blog"

Tell Walmart: Listen to Warehouse Whistleblowers

Dear Walmart CEO Mike Duke and Walmart Board Members:

We stand with the brave warehouse workers in Chino, California who blew the whistle and further exposed abuses in Walmart’s domestic warehouses.

What is happening in California is endemic to your entire supply chain. As the largest retailer in the world, Walmart holds the power to clean up an entire industry, improve jobs and protect workers willing to speak out for the greater good.

But so far your “Standards for Suppliers,” the rubric that is supposed to dictate the behavior of your contractors worldwide, is nothing more than an empty promise. News that you plan to more closely monitor your domestic warehouse is meaningless unless you include workers in the process. The warehouse workers in Chino, California lived abuses every day, but they had to risk their jobs to speak out – in direct violation of your own Standards for Suppliers.

We, the undersigned, stand with the Chino warehouse workers at Quetico, LLC who move merchandise in service of Walmart. We call on Walmart to enforce its Standards for Suppliers and ensure supply chain workers have a seat at the table.
Optional Member Code

1-25 of 4811 signatures
Number Date Name Location
4811 Fri Jun 06 10:40:46 EDT 2014 Geneva Jackson Chicago, IL
4810 Fri Jun 06 10:26:21 EDT 2014 Myriam Thelemaque WestMilford, NJ
4809 Fri Jun 06 10:20:01 EDT 2014 Sean G
4808 Fri Jun 06 10:08:18 EDT 2014 Sasha Morelli Portland, ME
4807 Sun Sep 01 12:53:57 EDT 2013 Nick Sundback
4806 Wed Aug 07 21:52:40 EDT 2013 Carlos Echevarria Inglewood, CA
4805 Mon Jul 01 18:23:32 EDT 2013 cynthia murray hyattsville, MD
4804 Mon Jun 10 23:29:39 EDT 2013 Carolyn Friedman Willow, NY
4803 Thu May 23 13:05:08 EDT 2013 Dendrobia Kohl Olympia, WA
4802 Thu May 23 12:56:44 EDT 2013 Dendrobia Kohl Olympia, WA
4801 Wed May 15 08:48:00 EDT 2013 Benjamin Lascelle Manchester, NH
4800 Tue May 14 12:47:39 EDT 2013 Alexandra Sipiora Chicago, IL
4799 Wed Apr 17 10:53:33 EDT 2013 Linda Gertig Bellevue, NE
4798 Sat Apr 06 22:58:57 EDT 2013 Emily Heath Chicago, IL
4797 Tue Apr 02 12:55:46 EDT 2013 Lesley Goodyear Brampton, ON
4796 Mon Apr 01 22:25:37 EDT 2013 Charles Crabbe Brampton, ON
4795 Mon Apr 01 22:25:35 EDT 2013 Charles Crabbe Brampton, ON
4794 Wed Mar 27 19:24:00 EDT 2013 Leticia DeWilde Chadds Ford, PA
4793 Wed Mar 27 13:18:25 EDT 2013 Marci Luna Tolleson, AZ
4792 Wed Mar 27 00:08:45 EDT 2013 Jessica Cronk Glendale, AZ
4791 Tue Mar 26 14:35:33 EDT 2013 Ken Gilmour Peterborough, ON
4790 Tue Mar 26 02:28:41 EDT 2013 Victoria Powers North Vernon, IN
4789 Sun Mar 24 16:49:24 EDT 2013 Janice Foss Pinole, CA
4788 Wed Mar 20 15:27:30 EDT 2013 Annemarie Campbell
4787 Sat Mar 16 14:43:08 EDT 2013 Patrick McManus Buffalo, NY
Next ->